December’s silent shroud

a song, video and words to explain my silence in December.
.
.

.
.
.
.

the too familiar turns and bends…
.
and statue still are the trees standing sentry tall
.
astride this white and weary Winter road,
.
my incessant journey of so many dreary and crippling seasons
.
recalling the somber memories etched decades deep
.
in gnarled bark and devoted wood.
.
.

how the infinite canopy arches in graceful bows,
.
laden branches kneel in gratitude to the peaceful sleep of snow.
.
i follow the trailing in frail voices of family i’ve lost,
.
of those i long to remember
.
swirling in the sliver of pause between
.
this world and another.
.
.

there is no hesitation in
.
passing through the Gate of Melancholia,
.
i wrap my solitude close in December’s silent shroud.
.
disowning my voice in sequestered quiet honoring memories now,
.
turning ever inward bowing in divine gratitude to those who
.
found me alone along this snowy road.
.
.
.
.

37 thoughts on “December’s silent shroud

  1. Skye says:

    I feel like I could have written this….not nearly as beautifully,of course, but it is my heart, too. Thank you for giving words to what I feel.

  2. You have put into words what many of us feel from Thanksgiving till the arrival of Spring. Another wonderful piece.

    • it is exactly from Thanksgiving, you are so spot on. my mom died on New Years Day,
      i moved in with her during her last weeks on Thanksgiving almost 30 years ago and my
      entire family disintegrated right after her funeral. i’ve haven’t seen any of them since,
      so this has always been a somber time despite the holidays.

      • See I know this because of family dynamics as well. So many of us know the loss of loved ones even before they are truly gone. Heartache I am sure can be to blame for most of it but I miss my bothers very much. So many of our family members died or were buried on a holiday must be why it touched me. Again thanks so much and I am sorry we have to come to our spots on this www to be understood 😦

      • i am sorry for your losses nutsfortreasure, i miss my sister as well.
        this grief used to cripple me during this time of year, now with the
        grateful passing of time i use this as an opportunity to reflect, to honor
        their memories. sometimes getting older has its benefits, eh? lol

      • Yes and the older and wiser we become the more they are missing out on. I try to just take pretty pictures to make up for the pain, not sure I could ever put pretty words together like you and others do but I am great at reading between the lines πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful day.

      • yes, you are incredibly perceptive, ty for that. enjoy!

  3. Reblogged this on Living and Lovin and commented:
    A beautiful piece of work.

  4. wunderwench says:

    Don’t forget to breathe deep my friend… life is beautiful. You express the solitude and sorrow so profoundly… and… God bless a man that appreciates the music of Enya πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing this piece of your heart.

    • oh when she first began recording i was smitten, got a lot of ribbing for it too! lol!
      i haven’t listened to her for quite a while, i’m grateful that i can share my words finally
      with her incredible angelic voice. you are most welcome wunderwench, ty for being here.

  5. My brother, you are so beautiful. You have stolen my heart.

  6. I don’t know where to start here, writing through tears. First of all, we were just hit with a blizzard like storm and the video looks like my town right now.
    I love Enya.
    On a more serious note, when you use the word “crippled” during the holidays, it really is exactly how I have felt for years as well. I get very depressed at Christmas. There are no more than 5 people at our table and this year it was 4. It upsets me when people complain about the inconveniences of shopping, petty problems with family, etc. At least they have some place to go for the holidays and people around them. I would be happy to just skip over the whole season.
    Thanks for sharing these beautiful words. It made me feel that I have not been alone on the “snowy road”.

    • oh you are not alone misunderstood, i think many of us feel so compelled to ‘feel smiley’ during the holidays,
      we dare not spoil the festivities by being depressed. i make no such concessions to these profound emotions,
      my wife and her family know i retreat during this time and why, and i love them for accepting me as i am. and yes,
      pushing the fast forward button to April would be a real nice option.

      we got buried in the last 2 days as well with dangerous temps, so glad i have off on Mondays. ty for sharing so much,
      Enya and this beautiful video seemed so perfectly suited, i’m glad you liked the music too.

  7. Brings to mind far away silver bells cleaving to their season to shine! We are often beneath heavy cold seasons ! This bites sweet though.

  8. SirenaTales says:

    Master Who, So pleased you have reclaimed your disowned voice, adding your inimitable beauty to this hungry, sometimes shivering world. Peace and warm hugs to you…..

  9. teardropsofink says:

    This is chilling, but beautiful…..much the way snow has a pretty face and a dark side. I know too well, sadly, that sad hearts write the best, and you did so well with this frosty, haunting piece. My heart aches for you, for I know exactly how you feel. You’re not alone in this, my friend. *hugs*

    • so happy to see you here ‘partner’, it helps as you know so well to write and release our feelings. it isn’t always easy but i never regret sharing when i receive wonderful comments like this one from you, ty so much teardropsofink.

  10. E.D. says:

    oh dear, you have bought back memories. they are not of snow but of Sri Lanka. My friend and I were traveling through Sri Lanka, oh years ago now, to the Elephant sanctuary there – and she wanted to play A Perfect day, by Eric Clapton, but the driver and me, well, we could not stand the music. We all settled forr Enya and The Memory Of Trees.. (i have the story of that trip still. Maybe I will post it soon.) best eve… (yvonne.)

    • well that’s a wonderful memory to recall, glad these words took you back.
      and that song is another of my favorites by Enya as well.
      oh please do post that story, the details sound fascinating,
      especially the elephant sanctuary.

      • E.D. says:

        have posted it tonight.. on the blog.. such a perfect day… (it was written in wordstar – took some work to make it work here on w.p.) going to bed now. We have had a hectic day here in flooded Brittany… lol

        eve

      • oohh, sorry to hear that E.D, i’ve never experienced flood conditions myself…i just can’t imagine.
        so glad you posted it, i’m a little behind in my reading but i’ll get to it soon. talk to you then…

  11. oh you, that closing stanza is soo beautiful. December is behind us…her’e hoping for a speedy arrival of spring.

  12. cindy knoke says:

    Your work is ethereal……this reminds me of Frost. Bravo~

  13. beebeesworld says:

    Descriptive and beautiful. It is easy to close my eyes and put myself there. beebee

Leave a Reply

