my earthly Angel

.
.
and how could it be…
.
hearing only her laughter, singing
.
the melody of my every dashed Hope, raining
.
down in sparks and chords
.
.
from soaring skies so high above my broken life,
.
swirling past faceless strangers
.
in anonymous rooms. if
.
there were other voices to hear that night
.
.
these ears never heard them, and if
.
there were other eyes to see,
.
mine never met them. and if
.
there is a steady hand
.
.
coloring summer days from despair, the
.
perfect cosmic hand was dealt us that night,
.
a royal flush of Kings and Queens,
.
of hearts and diamonds,
.
.
of fateful serendipitous
.
milliseconds
.
between the lost..
.
or found.
.
.
.
to Scout, my earth Angel
Happy 13th Valentine’s Day
.
002
.
.
approx, 8″ x 10*’ on vellum paper
pencil, watercolor pencil, white marker
sourced from a b & w selfie of Scout
and my imagination. click to enlarge.

39 thoughts on “my earthly Angel

  1. ~REBECCA DAWN~ says:

    What a beautiful poem to celebrate Valentine’s! Certainly romantic!! What a lucky woman!
    I loved the drawing!
    You are very talented!!

  2. Beautiful verses, accompanied by gorgeous sketch. Perfect for Valentine 🙂

  3. Skye says:

    Absolutely beautiful. 🙂

  4. SirenaTales says:

    How LOVEly, my friend, poetry and drawing both. Especially love “…there is a steady hand/coloring summer days from despair….” Happy Valentine’s Day to you, Scout and Cbear. As the song goes, “each day is Valentine’s Day.” xoxo p.s. So exciting to witness your stunning visual art…..

  5. I need more adjectives. Love my Bro. I’m so happy for you, always. Beautiful post.

  6. Miranda Stone says:

    Such a beautiful poem, especially when it’s accompanied by your amazing artwork. I love, love, love the last stanza–such rich language there. I hope you and Scout have a wonderful Valentine’s Day.

  7. Ethereal to match the picture of your beloved Scout. Sorry I’m late in reading. I hope you had a beautiful day with your family my friend.

  8. nutsfortreasure says:

    Wonderful piece for the woman you love.

  9. wunderwench says:

    The drawing of your beautiful angel is heavenly and your words so tender and sweet… what a wonderful Valentine’s gift… love love love 🙂

  10. What a wonderful gift of love to your love… I’m sure this meant so much more to her than a box of chocolates ever could. Gorgeous. The poem is wonderful and the art stunning.

  11. What a beautiful poem, lucky lady! I love the drawing, I’m very envious of people who can draw too 😛

  12. lumar1298 says:

    Beautiful Valentine poem and I love the angel drawing…

  13. anabrav says:

    Simply beautyfull!!!!

  14. Kenne says:

    Absolutely beautiful drawing of your angel in everyday life – keep it up – and lovely poem. She is a lucky woman!

  15. Noora says:

    Your unconditional, pure love for your “earth angel” touches my heart – deeply! Stunning artwork, incredibly touching poem. I’m speechless.

    P.S. I’m sorry I haven’t had a chance to comment earlier. Life has been pretty hectic.

Leave a comment