Friday Repost……parked on I 65…Haiku

parked on I 65….
what a rude awakening
to reality.

a few hours ago
lollygagging in the lake,
floating on our rafts

blissful, unaware
that this world still existed,
and here we are now

In a wall of trucks
on every side of our car.
we all have to pee….

‘where is the next exit!?’
‘there’s some tall grass over there…’
‘are you kidding me!!!???’

car doors are open,
people are walking around
on the Interstate,

‘hey, what’s going on?’
‘hey, do you know why we’re stopped?’
‘heh, it don’t matter’

says an old trucker,
‘that grass there Is just perfect,
my pup has to pee’.

24 thoughts on “Friday Repost……parked on I 65…Haiku

  1. Wrote this while on the road, I presume!
    It made me smile. This is how everyone feels on a long road trip.. If you ask me what’s on the top of my mind while I am driving a long distance.. Ill say “Where can I pee?” without batting an eyelid ..

    Nicely put 🙂

  2. Oloriel says:

    You have captired very well one of the many essences of travel. I’d be carefull with the grass tho. One time while I was in elementary school and we were on a school field trip, our teacher took us to pee in the grass, but it was not grass but nettle. We all could not sit down for days :p

  3. annotating60 says:

    Been there on the 65.>KB

  4. Eva van Beek says:

    😀 the pup has to pee…don’t I know that one 😉

  5. when you gotta go…ya gotta go…
    brings memories of an overnight bus trip in Vietnam and in the dark by the light of the moon all those ‘in need’ had to shimmy down the banks (shimmy we did as the grass was damp) heading towards the rice paddies. 🙂

    • oh, thanks for that story, would love to hear more about that trip….well, ya’ gotta go…but we didn’t, unfortunately. we waited like everyone else…ouch. *smiling now remembering*

  6. Happylifeaholic says:

    Loved this poem because I could relate to it all to well. Everytime we’re stuck in a traffic jam, I need to pee.

    • i don’t understand why that is, but it’s so true. maybe it’s the fear that we don’t have ready access but this was by far the worst tie up i’ve ever been in. ty and thanks again for the award nomination, i really do appreciate you thinking about me, my friend.

  7. SSMatthews says:

    Scenic byway through the mountains of Boise National Forest; three hour wait behind six miles of backed up two-lane traffic. No as much fun as one might think. Nice work interrelating personal needs!

    Grand-daughter danced and flapped her wings to ladybug, just thought you might want to know.

    And Midnight Rider! Way cool, but it hardly deserves that! After my reprimand, I will on occasion present poetry at dVerse, but only poetry ‘lite’ as I certainly do not want to overtax anyone. Thank you for the comment and the conversation however, I enjoy it very much.

  8. Ahahahaha, made me laugh out loud!! love to start my day like this, thank you and blessings:)

    • ..you are most welcome and a warm welcome to you. ..i purposely wrote this low key, but it was truly one of those absurd life moments when all you can do is laugh and take notes!…thank you for really enjoying the humor in it, your reaction made my day!..*smiling now*

  9. Kirsten says:

    Ha! I bet you were typing away during that traffic standstill! This is wonderful.

    • ha, YES i most definitely was. i recited it (i still can’t believe my shyness allowed this ) to my wife and daughter and we all had a giggle! unforunately laughing is not the best avctivity, when you’re trying to forget you need to….LOL! thank you for enjoying this as much as i did writing it!.

  10. Chatty Owl says:

    That witty need to pee 😛

  11. Miranda Stone says:

    Ah, what a way to come crashing back to reality after such a lovely day! I remember when I was a girl, I was riding through the country with my aunt and uncle, and the urge to pee struck me–I really had to go! So my aunt and uncle actually pulled over at a small store and asked if I could use the restroom. The woman who owned the place said her son was in the restroom because he was sick, but we could use the outhouse out back. I will never forget that outhouse. It had huge wasp nests hanging from the ceiling and spiderwebs where the seat was. I took one look inside and said, “I’ll hold it.”

Leave a Reply

