s c r i b b l i n g

Friday Repost
for my new friends,
a little dig in the
archives for you.
also, today is a
travel day so my
replies will be
delayed until
later tonight. ty.
.
.
.
.
scribbling
.
.
.

images (23)
.
i seem
to remember
when i was a kid,
being in my
room

and

laying
on my belly
surrounded by
page after page
of white and
colored
paper.

and

each
of them
filled to the
edges, every
square inch
used up

and

how many
hours i spent
by myself,
so deep
in my

i m a g i n a t i o n

just

s c r i b b l i n g .

and it’s funny,
there was
never
the
fear of
failure then.

because there
was always
another
blank
page

and

if

i

filled up
all the
paper,

ooh!

that
empty wall…
.
images (24)

66 thoughts on “s c r i b b l i n g

    • Gill McGrath says:

      You say you are an ex painter but you painted those words….you shaped them visually all curvy and endless….. no capitals or full stops. You are still painting….. not scribbling…… .

      • hi Gill and a very warm welcome to you. ty so much for saying that, because i approach my writing
        as if i was still painting. my words color far better than my paint ever could.

  1. This took me back to being the child who loved to draw and page upon page would spill to the floor, but no I daren’t touch the wall, that would have been frowned upon ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Loved the drawings of all the ‘boy stuff’ my friend.

  2. Oloriel says:

    This brought me back to the years when I was younger, when I still had faits in my self aswell, besides in everybody else ๐Ÿ™‚
    The scribbles, paintings, drawings, all so beautiful when found and it sometimes seems sureal, looking at it and saying “Woah, this was/is me!”

    • i’m always trying to make sure Cbear doesn’t throw away her drawings, we just have so little concept then of how important these memories become when we get older.

      and i know what you mean Oloriel, it’s like ‘who was that person, was that really me who did these?’ well, i’m so glad the words could take you back to then……:-) and i bet your drawings, with the imagination you have, must be quite amazing to see!

      • Oloriel says:

        I wish my art-school prep teacher thought the same ๐Ÿ™‚

      • anabrav says:

        I quite agree with you! Memories become important when we get older – we can “process” them with more information. It is as if we had climbed a montain and, once on the top, we can see the valley from a different, comprehensive viewpoint…ALL the best for 2014

      • hi anabrav and a very warm welcome to you. and yes i so agree with you, the memories i once considered ones i’d rather forget,
        have been informed over time with my experience, which colored them with a new perspective. Happy New Year to you as well!

  3. oh Oloriel , that wasn’t fair… i’m so sorry to hear that. i had one of those art teachers too but drawing and my imagination was where i lived, it was my lifeblood so there was just no stopping me then.

  4. I needed this today. Thank you.

  5. Sky Vani says:

    I think that my daughter is very talented but she is less the five years old so we will see what the future holds for her. I was thinking of her while I was reading. She is so… She is so like you in this poem ๐Ÿ™‚

    • hello Sky…i think that might be the sweetest compliment for me right now, i think you now the child long silent is emerging again. ty for that, truly.

      Cbear didn’t always display her talents when she was younger, she would have long periods of intense creativity and then rest. now i believe she is understanding what she has inside. so i guess what i’m saying is we never just know, i just always encouraged her, she inherited all my hundreds of markers, paints and materials and has stacks of paper…so no wall drawing. LOL!

  6. This is just lovely. I relate, feel and embrace your words here. Wonderful!

    there was
    never
    the
    fear of
    failure then.

    because there
    was always
    another
    blank
    page

    Lovely, lovely!
    ๐Ÿ™‚ A great read to start my day with!

    • oh, ty so much for understanding the esseence of this poem, what i was attempting to express. a reminder to remember our childlike curiosity, yes and as a person who writes it is my approach to my poetry. there is no failure, no stress, no anxiety when i write, and when it’s done there is learning, and moving foward to the next poem.

      you are so very wise my friend, ty and::::enjoy::::your day. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. smilingtoad says:

    Beautiful piece indeed and love the drawings! This made me both grin incessantly, and also evoked quite a bit of blissful nostalgia. The lines that really hit me, of course, were these brilliant ones “there was never the fear of failure then” How much I can relate to that, aye. I was just that way, all the way up into high-school, and then I was surrounded by so much art, and we were moving, it all ended up on the curb, apart from a few pieces. I thought at the rate I was going at, it would all be replaced with new work in a few months. I did not know I wouldn’t draw or paint again- apart from the little comic pieces I do from time to time. So, a lot of nostalgia indeed, a very good read. Loved this most thoroughly! Also reminds me of my dear niece B. She so reminded me of myself at this age, and she’s gone on at an even faster rate than I did. Brilliant lass so proud of her and cannot believe I get to be her ol’ auntie.

    Thank you for this wonderful write indeed, just adored it!! And I also resorted to the wall (blast) when the pages ran out. My mum came waltzing in to find some alligators and rain-deer gawping at her from the walls, oh dear!

    • ty so much and the warmest of welcomes to you. your beautiful recollections plastered a grin on this mug and a smile in my heart, especially the alligators and rain -deer image. oh the stories i could tell about drawing on walls!

      and for you, i will disregard my own rule on ‘self-advertising’ and offer this post i wrote on Father’s Day
      https://whocouldknowthen.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/my-gift/, because your telling of your niece B so reminded me of my daughter. she is also far ahead of where i was at her age, so happy am i she inhereited all my better genes.

      you and i share a sad history with our artwork and it saddens me that happened to you, i’m so, so sorry.
      most of my work was stolen during a move, and i took it as a sign then that a chapter in my life had ended. i was trained as a painter and illustrator, thought that’s what i would be, but life intruded and then that happened…haven’t done much since, but i will say that watching my daughter now has gotten things stirring a bit, so we’ll see what happens…

      ty so much for reading my words, and sharing these beautiful stories, it means so very much to this person who writes.

  8. Chatty Owl says:

    I’ve read this before, but didnt comment on it, it hit home too much and at that time.. I guess i was hesitant to reveal more of myself.

  9. Chatty Owl says:

    You didnt make me uncomfortable.

    • oh good, thanks for telling me.

      actually, i was thinking of making a page based on this poem, a page where friends can share a poem they want me to read, or a music share or just say hi and chat a little. i was going to title it, ‘so scribble me something’ do you think that’s a good idea?

  10. i’m reading the comments & it reminded me: i drew a picture when i was 11 for my father, when he had a heart attack & when i was 36 it was still taped to the wall in his bedroom..

  11. ah how free you were! my imagination was always confined to paper and I remember the dissatisfaction even then- my grandson has just expanded to walls and cushions though ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • uh oh lol! i confined my scribblings to the walls and get in plenty of trouble for that, furniture would have landed me in a world of hurt! that was a wonderful freedom to have, to create without any preconceptions, without fear. poetry is allowing me to feel that
      freedom again, i have very little anxiety about writing as i did when i painted.

  12. Love the layout of this poem….I can feel the freedom of a child’s mind in this. One reason to say no to colouring books. Children need to use their own minds to create on a blank space without the boundaries of lines. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • oh ty misunderstood, i wrote this from my child’s voice, i’m so glad you could hear it. and yes, i agree with you. i think we are too quick to ‘structure’ children’s creativity. i remember how much i despised paint by number canvases my parents would buy me. i purposely painted ‘outside’ all the lines and they eventually stopped bringing them home! lol!

  13. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    I have been doodling and scribbling all morning til afternoon,
    grey rainy days…music…stillness with no one around me…perfect energy….
    This was wonderful, but then your thoughts usually are….
    Thank you for sharing what I am doing LOLs…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

  14. wunderwench says:

    Being a doodler myself I really enjoyed this! I have moved from scribbling on blank sheets of paper as a kid to the oh so popular “art journaling” Each page is just a little canvas waiting to be filled with whatever my imagination comes up with.

    • i’m happy for you that you journal wunderwench, i think any creative outlet we allow ourselves to pursue for the pure enjoyment of it is so precious, our imaginations need exercise too! my own doodling sent me to Parsons School of design, i studied painting and illustration,
      but over the years i’ve lost the special tactile connection i had with brushes and pencils.

  15. That’s revelatory about where you derive your impetus to write what’s been on walls for so long! Wonderful prose! Faithfully Debbie

  16. kalabalu says:

    drawing/scribbling ..pencil/charcoal/ink/marker..whatever was available I would imagine a story/incident and although nothing made sense, except the sound of strokes..the wet paint brush..and my clothes soaked in mud..well earth is a good slate/board to leave imprints..mommy wouldn’t go that far to check..which leaves I had collected and where I had left.

  17. oh to get that back…that “no fear of failure” mentality. Thank you for the reminder. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh nad by the way I’m once again not getting emails when you pot so I’m going to try to unfollow and refollow and see if that fixes it. Just didn’t want to do it without explaining and have you think anything was wrong. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • you are most welcome Melanie, yes that was the message in this poem
      and for so many reasons we adults have such a difficult time with this issue.
      i rarely do with my writing, there is always another blank template, but i
      did when i painted. the anxiety was just crippling. and ty for telling me!

  18. Such a wonderful post. I have a brother who did this when he was young always drawing and drawing he could have had his own cartoon silly boy wonder what he does now as I have not seen him in over 14 years I do miss the days of being a kid and his older sister thanks for flooding me with wonderful memories of him

  19. Popping in to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. I am so glad my WP journey this year had our paths cross. May you and your family be blessed, Dear Friend. {{Hugs}}

  20. Sky Vani says:

    I just wanted to wish you a Happy New Year. I hope your year will be filled with love and dreams that will come true!

  21. I nominated you for a Sunshine Blogger Award. If you want to participate in the acceptance โ€œrulesโ€ you can read my post. http://jfrensley.wordpress.com/2014/01/02/sunshine-on-a-rainy-day/?preview=true&preview_id=846&preview_nonce=3c66a01359&post_format=standard
    If you donโ€™t want to I wonโ€™t be offended. Just wanted you to know you have brought me sunshine through your writing and stories. : )

    • well ty for so much kindness Jennifer, that is so sweet of you to say that. i have
      happily accepted awards in the past but i guess i travel in blog circles now of poets
      who don’t participate in the award thingy, so i can never seem to fulfill the requirements.
      ty again for thinking of me.

  22. Noora says:

    How are you, my friend? Wishing you a beautiful, peaceful, prosperous, blissful, healthy and extremely happy new year. :)) Much love and light.

    • hi Noora, ty so much and Happy New Year to you as well.
      i guess i’m finally recovering from my December silent funk,
      will probably post a poem tomorrow. Love and Hugs to you sweet Noora!

  23. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    stopping by to wish you a (belated) Happy New Year and hope you reveled within the New Moons energy ….
    I hope all is well in your part of the world….
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    BlessedBe
    maryrose

    • hi maryrose, ty for checking in. Happy New Year to you as well.
      i guess iโ€™m finally recovering from my December silent funk,
      and reintroducing myself to the moon and stars and words lately,
      i will probably post a poem tomorrow.Love and Hugs to you maryrose!

  24. your gift was blossoming then! God bless!

  25. I just loved this! I miss scribbling myself.

    Blessings,
    Theresa

Leave a Reply

