46 thoughts on “Monday Haiku…reveal

  1. I do not think that any writer can hide in their poetry – for their hearts and lives are on the line and in every word. Beautiful MFโ€ฆ. I just realised though people may take those initials as something elseโ€ฆoopsey ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ™‚

    • haha, yeah, i realized it the other day too! and ty, My Friend! LOL!

      and as for the hiding, when i first began this poetic journey,
      i tried hiding behind metaphors when the subject or emotion
      was just too much to talk about directly. i’ve begun stripping
      away all the metaphors from my writing now…i’m going for broke!

      • YE HA lol good for you – so proud *smiles*
        what’s the use of pretending,we are who we are
        words are written from souls ~ there is nothing to cover

        ๐Ÿ™‚

      • oh i’ve tried, believe me. but once you know the truth
        and what that feels like, anything short of ‘real’ just
        feels so empty and unsatisfying. there is no emotional
        release in hiding, so what’s the point?

      • no point exactly. What we write comes from us, our pain, our happiness, to falsify that – the words don’t come out the sameโ€ฆthere is no meaning unless we are able to reach within us and pull our true feelings out. (hugs)

      • yup, and i have Haiku among other influences to thank for this,
        it’s much tougher to hide in seventeen syllables. another reason
        for me to be enamored and commited to the form.

      • I started with some Haiku but I found myself getting a little jammed. You are right though a great deal harder to hide in 17, you write Haiku well MF. Perhaps I should think of 3 words for you too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • well, i appreciate the offer, but honestly, i can’t write
        to prompts…if it isn’t coming from my heart….

        and ty, i have totally immersed myself to the point that the
        5,7,5 count is so intuitive now, and i think that immediacy
        is just a part of why this form has stood the test of time.

      • that is fine I understand. I find it relaxing at times though to be prompted, either with the music or words or a picture. Looking, listening and reading is what brings my emotions to the surface, especially in those time of the *block*. I am going to try a Nonet tomorrow as I haven’t done one for quite some time.

      • i’ll be looking forward to your Nonet, it’s a form
        that’s really beginning to peak my interest lately.

      • thank you – hopefully I will no disappoint *smiles*

  2. It is where you can be the most honest. But also a bit abstract and cryptic, also. jk

    • good morning secret keeper and a warm welcome to you!

      yes you are so right, i guess i’ve just decided at this point
      in my life, i have nothing to gain by being fearful anymore
      and that is being reflected in my poetry now.

  3. teardropsofink says:

    This reminds me so much of how I write – for when I do, I leave nothing out. My entire soul is laid bare, so that I can find the burden of this life measures just a little less afterwards.

    • oh hi tear drops of ink, it warms my heart to see you here on my pages, ty.

      and i will tell you that i was thinking of you and your poetry,
      while this poem was rumbling around in my head these past few days.
      reading your poetry has nudged me a little to be more straight up honest in mine, so ty.

  4. dawnhosking says:

    Indeed, I agree ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. lovely!

    i don’t know
    what 20 lines a day is
    not literal ? (lol i am guessing, because haiku aren’t 20 )

  6. charlypriest says:

    So this is a Haiku! Short, but resounds with not only poetry writers, I guess with all writers or with all people who are passionate about their work. Canยดt hide from it, itยดs in every bone of your body.
    Read the good night poem, nice reading it with the music playing as a backdrop.

    • hey Charlie, good to see you back. ty, i’m glad you enjoyed the ‘night’ poem. and yes Haiku certainly is popular these days, seems to have done a lot to awaken an interest in poetry among a wider audience.

  7. Chess says:

    Truth, if anything, poetry reveals even more of who we are.

  8. Oloriel says:

    There are no wiser or more honest words than these, my friend ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

