23 thoughts on “toosacrowd…Haiku

  1. don’t I know it! look at the space they are creating between them though

  2. Oloriel says:

    Always happy to see your words, my friend! This reminded me of a song by a Serbian band where lyrics go:”This is a terribly big city and therefore there is no reason to be alone in it”

    • i like the positive spin of those lyrics a lot, somedays i’m more tolerant of the ‘crowd’ than others. but lately after spending 10 days on the lake and the last 2 weekends on the farm, uuhhmm, not so tolerant at the moment! LOL, ty Oloriel

  3. someone is missing the lake and the farm I think {hugs} my friend. Oh and I read this before I looked up and read your last comment 🙂

    • yeah, there isn’t any doubt about that, but i’ve been feeling this way for some time now. i need lots of alone time to recharge, New York was impossible for me, Chicago has begun to feel the same so i’m grateful we have the farm to escape to.

  4. So true but sometimes you don’t even notice. You get so used to people being there that they just disappear and you only notice them by their absence.

  5. I’m from Chicago…all my life…love it.

  6. Chatty Owl says:

    A feeling so well-known in this big wheel called London.

  7. Chagall says:

    Great poem title as well. —–Chagall

  8. dawnhosking says:

    So few words paint such a vivid image – I like it 😉

    • hi Dawn and a very warm welcome to you, ty. i’m smitten with the Haiku form,
      the 17 syllable count ensures that every word is absolutely essential.
      and it’s been a help when transferring that discipline to my other poetry,
      even the prose benefits.

      and as for the message, i have Social Anxiety which, among other things
      is a fear of strangers and, well….in a city the size of Chicago they’re everywhere! LOL!

      • dawnhosking says:

        Thank you for the warm welcome, Haiku is something that I have only just discovered and I’m liking reading it.

        I’ll maybe try writing some too if it helps with prose.

        It must be challenging living in the city with social anxiety, you are brave to do that. Facing your fears I suppose, good for you. And yes, strangers are everywhere in a city 😉

      • oh, do try. it takes a few to get the hang of the rhythm, but after a while
        your brain locks into the 5, 7, 5, syllable count quite naturally.

        i don’t normally do this, self promote, but i wrote a humorous Haiku
        about this subject you might like;
        https://whocouldknowthen.wordpress.com/2013/08/09/in-5s-and-in-17s-haikus/

        well, the most challenging thing was finally finding someone to accept
        me, it’s not easy living with a person with so many social limitations,
        as you might imagine. and i found a career that’s just perfect, i’m an
        animal caretaker, in service to dogs and my employers love me. so all
        day, my interaction is with my dogs, not people.

      • dawnhosking says:

        I’m not sure how good I would be at it but I could give it a whirl. Probably best to read a few more first and get the hang of it.

        Thanks I’ll take a look at that.

        You are so lucky, I am happy for you and it must be a very rewarding job.

      • yes it is, most definitely. and lucky as well!

      • dawnhosking says:

        I hope you don’t mind but I have re blogged your fine example of Haiku (I have ensured that your name is on it) as I just love it 😉

      • mind?, no, never.
        i consider it a very high compliment, among us who write.
        you are so sweet to do that Dawn.

Leave a Reply

