everyday

this poem is meant to be read with the music as a soundtrack::::enjoy:::::
.

.
.
.
.
.
so
i never knew this
about myself
i only learned it by
sharing my life with you

that
i’m built for the everyday
those little things we do
that i used to
think were boring

when
i was alone and lonely
and i would see couples
smiling through
their daily routines

like
being at the
supermarket buying groceries
was the greatest
thing in the world

and
making dinner together
was enough
to set their
world on fire

’cause
it seems no matter
what they did together
it was enough
to make their day

and
now here i am
feeling the exact same thing
when the diamonds wake wide in your eyes
and your sun shines my way

’cause
i want to know
every little thing
about you,
not less

like
the shade of subtle lipstick
coloring your
lips that kiss me
for no apparent reason

and
what French lotion
softens the skin on your hands
that tiptoe every
angle of this lanky frame

and
where did you buy
that retro nightshirt
that shows
every…ahem…soft curve of you?

’cause
there’s not a thing
that i don’t see
when it comes
to seeing you

when
the light dims low and
your diamond eyes reflect moon shadow
it’s time to
nuzzle every scent of your hair
envelope little you
in my long embrace drifting
in peaceful dreams knowing that
everyday i open these eyes
there is you

and
there’s not a thing
that i don’t love
when it comes to loving you
because i just am, just built for you

20 thoughts on “everyday

  1. 2 peas in a pod 🙂 Oh I changed the last line a smidge..
    coz I thought it the god damn – as in ‘hot’ element talking about her nightshirt. – But that’s just me. 🙂 {{hugs}}

    and where did you buy
    that retro nightshirt
    that shows
    every…’damn’..every…soft curve of you?

  2. Beautiful and softly sweet.

  3. Oloriel says:

    So beautiiful and rhytmical, for some reason it reminded me on a perfect noon at some beach.

    • …a perfect noon at some beach…it might be the music Oloriel..do you remember my poem ‘summer us’?, both of these songs are light and breezy summer favorites, and real easy to pick up a tempo. ..ty my dear friend..

  4. mistress4u says:

    Beautiful….floating through all my senses and wants to make me slow dance; the romantic in me has been triggered

  5. Noora says:

    … this piece flows so perfectly. I enjoyed it a lot – as always. 🙂

  6. Mama Zen says:

    This is so romantic! Love it!

    • oh thank you Mama Zen and a warm welcome to you. congratulations on having your poem chosen, what an honor!

      more than half of the poems i’ve written, were written to her. so yes, an unapologetic hopeless romantic here and so glad i have the words to tell her what she means to me.

  7. teardropsofink says:

    Beautiful and sweet….it made me smile so. 🙂 Pleased to meet another hopeless romantic like myself . And your work is so wonderful, too, you have such a way with words.

    • …oh thank you teardropsofink and a very warm welcome to you. …yes, that would be me…a hopeless romantic and a real pleasure to meet another…i was afraid our species might be becoming extinct these days…maybe we should start a ‘return to romance’ movement…. LOL!

      ..ty again and please don’t be a stranger, this door is always open….

  8. I so enjoyed your poem and the music that goes with it. You really captured that sweet, lovely way that lovers can make the simplest things so pleasurable.

    • thank you Deborah, i really appreciate you liking the music as well. i wanted this poem to be light and breezy like our life is day to day, so lucky are we. that song always felt that way to me.

      and it’s funny how much we can learn about ourselves in a relationship, Scout just has this nonchalant, easy way about her and i guess it kinda’ rubbed off. and i’m glad, because i was not what anyone would consider nonchalant..LOL!

  9. SirenaTales says:

    “when the diamonds wake wide in your eyes/ and your sun shines my way….” Gorgeous. And I am so happy for you. xo p.s. Hope you are feeling much better.

Leave a Reply

