angel of words

for my new friends
at Poets Pub, for
d’verse Open Link Night

.
.
.
.
.
145401563_oil-painting-portrait-flying-angels-follow-me-24x36-
.
.
.
.
.my Angel of Words
.
.
.
.
you will find no fight in these fingers
.

they are slaves to your gentle insistence
.

find a willingness in this empty pen
.

fill it with nuance and inspiration
.
.
.
.
oh, Angel of Words
.
.
.
cover me, in your earnest shroud
.

cloak me, with your vocabulary
.

help me hear the meter, divine the rhyme
.

take me on a journey above the constant clouds
.
.
.
.
………………………………………climb
.
.
.
.
…………………climb
.
.
.
.
climb with me into a clean
.

and ever clear sky
.

quiet this busy
.

mind, erase
.

horizons
.

as we
.

glide
.
.
.
.
……..glide
.
.
.

………………glide
.
.
.
.
……………………softly into the
.

………………………cradle of pure creativity,
.

……………………only you can open these two eyes
.

………………..when they believe there is nothing to see
.
.
.
.
…………………………………………………..fly
.
.
.
.
…………………………..fly
.
.
.
.
…….fly
.
.
.
.
with me over these uncharted landscapes
.

……..steel my spine, help heal these tragic memories
.

……………fill this fragile heart with bravery
.

…………………..to face my unknowns and life’s every mystery.
.
.
.
.

this song is an integral part of this poem, not the
tempo as usual but the mood it creates::::enjoy::::
.

77 thoughts on “angel of words

  1. The writer writing to the writer within – the music – etheral – the want – the need- the find of inspiration. Guidance to pen the words, the feelings… you have it all. {{hugs to you my dear friend}}

    • well, it seems i have a lot more angels than i thought, just a few months ago.
      you among them my Angel of Constant Comfort.
      sending {{{ h u g s }}}} and ::::love:::: to you, my friend, ty so much.

  2. yelena says:

    my breath was taken away as i was reading this uplifting poem along with heavenly music. reminds me of Divine Comedy, sure Dante would adore this as much as i do *many smiles* love the way it unfolds, that sky’s so clear before my eyes, and so beautiful that seems it grasps at the realm of eternity. you are a poetic magician indeed!

    • Yelena, i’m not a religious person by nature, but this writing poetry, this open heart examination, the constant inspiration among the poets here on WP…this is crossing into new territory for me. i’m just letting it happen, ’cause honestly i’ve never felt this tranquil before.

      know you are special to me Yelena, i feel blessed we read each other’s poetry.
      so many *smiles*, so many thank you’s and {{{ h u g s }}}] to you, my friend.

  3. Robyn Lee says:

    Absolutely beautiful ~ your words… the formatting and the music. Perfect for me right now as I prepare for my departure. Thank you dear one ~ with Love and Light…
    x RL

    • Robyn, i have been thinking of you constantly, you are really in my heart.
      this is as close to a prayer as i could possibly write, and that you might
      find some comfort here…..thank you. please stay in touch somehow…..

      sending you my love and healing energy and {{{ h u g s }}] to you, dearest Robyn.

  4. Morgan says:

    So Lovely! I always know where to come to find an Inspirational Vision 🙂 Thank You!

    • oh, what a wonderul thing to tell me, ty. and a very warm welcome to you. it seems like the circle of inspiration is contagious, among us who write. a few of us were just having that conversation last week , i’m sure you will be doing the same for me! *smiles*

  5. Chatty Owl says:

    You, my dear friend, just created the most gorgeous piece…

  6. annotating60 says:

    You know, I have to be honest, I believe in inspiration but noty in a muse. Inspirastion is amorphous and is attracted only by those working at their craft no matter what.>KB

    • and i appreciate your honesty, our conversation began very honestly and i, for one would like it to continue. this door is always open….

      i think you know my story well enough by now, i’ve been writing poetry for all of three months, so my experience is miniscule but i’ll say i believe in both; in inspiration and a muse. certainly Scout, my partner is my muse, and music is a constant source of inspiration. so are the poets among us here at WP, yourself included who i am continuously inspired by.

      as for my Angel of Words, she is neither. she is a guardian, a receptor, a vehicle to bring me to that ‘white’ place, the place where i am tranquil and undisturbed by anything but what i am writing. i’m sure this all sounds a bit odd, but i guess we all have our methods that work for us.

  7. Oloriel says:

    It would not let me leave a comment earlier, but I gladly return.
    I think you really shined with your soul through this poem and the journey it takes the reader on is very valuable, strenghtening and uplifting.

    • yeah, that happens to me too Oloriel.

      well, this is what my quirky process sounds like to me, it’s how i get to that ‘place’ i need to be to write, to hear this heart without distractions and it’s as close to praying that i’ll get. thank you for coming back to leave your insight for me, you know how much it means to me.

  8. An unwrapping of a cocoon into the joys of a miracle !

    • and my barometer as i have named you, tells me i did well. i thank you my wonderful friend.

      • that’s the nicest name anyone could call me! Your writing is clean, enough of metaphors and analogies, but mostly the esse of life in it’s glory, beauty and simplicity !

      • oh, i am so glad you like it, i really feel that way. you have been
        here almost since my first poems, and your honesty is most appreciated.

        and i totally agree, i’ve begun to come out from behind the metaphors
        i was hiding behind, i think a different voice is emerging too.
        ‘clean’, yes i like that description a lot, ty.

  9. brian miller says:

    only you can open these two eyes to see when they say there is nothing…nice…love your prayer to your muse…that she guide you pen….may you ever find creativity…

    and i have to agree with KB, i dont believe in a muse either, but that does not keep me from appreciating your verse…smiles.

    • well, you know i appreciate your insight and appreciation Brian, ty. but like i mentioned to KB, she is not my muse, she is the vehicle to get me to the place, the neutral, serene place that i need to write.

      ahhh, don’t mind me, my quirky process won’t make much sense to anyone but me. i guee that’s all that matters, right? *smiles*

  10. Talicha J. says:

    Beautiful. That’s all I can come up with because I’m blown away!

    • geez, if you knew how scared i was to post this poem…..
      and now to get reactions like yours, honestly it’s me who is blown away too!
      thank you so much, i wish i could tell you what your comment means to me! *so smiling now*

      • Talicha J. says:

        🙂 never be afraid to post something. Everyone may not appreciate, enjoy or understand what we say but someone out there will. There is always going to be someone who wants or needs to hear what you have to say. You said this beautifully and I’m glad you posted it! Are you on Twitter, I’d love to follow you!

      • oh, thank you for your sweet encouragement. i’m untrained, i write from my heart so i have all these adaptaions i’ve developed, that i was afraid would make no sense whatsoever to anyone else. *smiling now*

        and no, i’m not, sorry but thank you. maybe i should be, my partner keeps telling me i should and she’s always right!

      • Talicha J. says:

        🙂 I believe with writing and poetry that the rules don’t always matter. It’s the intent and the emotion and meaning that is important. So being trained or untrained is not relevant in my world of art. Your style is yours, own it 😉 if you decide to take your partners advice let me know and I’ll follow you! I’m @talichaj

  11. Nara Malone says:

    I need that angel of words to pay me a visit. I love how you have this arranged visually, as if the words were taking flight.

    • ok, message deliverd, she’s happy to oblige. *smiles*
      thank you for seeing that, because that is precisely what we do together,
      it’s just my way to erase the day, wipe that slate clean and start at neutral
      so my words have a clear path without distraction.

    • Nara, i hope you see this reply, i had a long comment about how much i loved your poem, and now Blogger won’t accept my i.d. the word combinations and energy were just delicious!

  12. Lyrical and insipred work – glad I stopped by and will do again… All the Best to you Scott http://www.scotthastie.com

  13. Pamela says:

    An incantation to a muse, that is quite lovely, wckt.

    Pamela

  14. Love the way you combine poetry with music. Together they are delicious.

  15. playful little child playing with you skipping fairely across clouds and seas finding circles spirals in the horizons scanning oceans farther off to sea…angle dust sprinkling angels you to waves washing you to shore scrubbing your soul and sand from knees to toes cool waters blaze to higher plays…

  16. I think you are THE Angel of Words, my friend.
    Just lovely, truly lovely!
    ~Andrea<3

  17. Eva van Beek says:

    This is profoundly beautiful!

  18. SSMatthews says:

    A mature and well composed work. I enjoyed the physical movement as much as the aural. We are our own angels of words and it is within we find the when we listen! Excellent writing my friend!

  19. Sara v says:

    This is wonderful! I feel like posting it next to my computer for inspiration–lovely 🙂

  20. Maggie Grace says:

    What a beautiful and eye-pleasing write. I find it difficult to play with words as others do. Angel of Words. Yes. Let her guide your pen.

    • well, thank you so much and the warmest of welcomes to you. the playing, arranging words might come a little more naturally to me, my early training was in painting and illustration. so how my words appear on th page is very important, i still have a lot to learn with spacing here on WP, but thank you for saying so, it warms my heart.

      and in the very short time i’ve been writing, she hasn’t let me down yet. *smiles*

  21. This piece takes flight– seems to glide within the conscious stream– very uplifting! ~peace, Jason

    • Jason, that you say that really means so much, it is what i was trying so hard, and worrying that i couldn’t express well enough.
      thank you for taking the time to leave such an encouraging comment. i will be visiting your blog this weekend, when i do the bulk of my reading etc, what i’ve seen of your artwork, deserves my serious attention. a very appreciative ex painter here. *smiles*

  22. This is marvelous! Reading it makes you feel like you are flying with the angel of words herself.

    • oh, i’m so glad you felt that way, it was what i was really trying to make happen for someone reading. and it’s so good to see you again, thank you so much.

      • Im just swamped with college work and organizations. I wanna like all your poems, but somehow my phone won’t let me. But really I like them all. ❤ You can be assured Ill read more of you're future posts. 🙂

      • thank you for saying so, and you know, that happens to me a lot too: WoerdPress keeps asking for my i.d. and then it will not accept it.

        it would certainly warm my heart to see more of you on my pages, i admire your poetry as well. *smiling*

  23. Morgan says:

    Reblogged this on booknvolume and commented:
    This is so spellbinding and beautiful! I absolutely LOVE it!

  24. Meka says:

    This is moving. I’m glad to have found your blog 🙂

  25. Awe inspiring !

    My smile which started with the first line, stayed even after I finished the last one.. A prayer, an ode, a thank you all packed in one

    What a delightful read! *smiles broadly with child like happiness*

    • so sorry for this late reply, but some days at work……and how you warmed this heart with your chldlike happiness, my child thanks you so much and is sending *smiles in return*. i am so glad you are here, Mamta.

  26. wOw! This is delectable 🙂

    • ty very much, your comment gave me a chance to read this poem again.
      i remember being so anxious posting this. i’ve only been writing
      poetry since April, i have no formal training and my angel of words is
      one of my quirky adaptations to get to that ‘place’, where the day
      is washed away and there is nothing between my heart and my poetry.

      i’m very happy you enjoyed it,ty again.

  27. […] complete with cookies!, and WC has the very special talent for combining poetry and prose with musical inspiration — a poet after my own heart and an instant friend. My thanks to both again. Have a nice week […]

  28. dallinstoker says:

    I enjoyed the concept of this the beginning. Once I got through the first several lines I was hooked to the end.

    I believe I liked it because I felt like I related to it. I got the impression that you as a writer and for any artist in general finds a type of therapy in their respective art.

    Maybe the message was unintended but I got that and I enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing

    • hi dallinstoker, ty and a very warm welcome to you. it means a lot to me that you find something in my words to relate to,
      and yes, absolutely writing is a catharsis, an exploration and a release of pent up emotions. my writing is my truth as i
      know it to be, without metaphors. sharing has an additional benefit, allowing us sometimes to not feel so alone.

      ty for your insight, i really appreciate you leaving me such a thoughtful comment.

  29. I just love how this poem flows.

    Blessings,
    Theresa

    • sorry for the late reply Theresa but MrMom was kinda’ busy today. ty…i remember the inspiration behind this poem, it was the first time i was absolutely still, listening to my heart and many of these words wrote themselves. many poets talk about this phenomenon, but it was the first time it happened to me.

      ah, the mystery and miracle of poetry!

Leave a Reply

