painted faces

thCAUFG2WR
.
.
so…I don’t do all that much talking
tucked in my corners, I observe the goings on
and maybe I’ve made far fewer friends than you
but I believe more in creating fewer enemies too

so…friend, you ask me about this quiet of mine
it’s just that some words, they come way too easy
they spill right out, spearing unsuspecting prey
and if they hit a mark, can you really talk them back ?

so…you will apologize, try and make amends
and I’ll probably just paint another smile on this face
it’s just that careless words, have this way of hurting
…so long after our painted faces turn away
.
.
32 Flavors
I’d never try to give my life meaning
By demeaning you
I am 32 flavors and then some
I’ll never forget where I came from
I am 32 flavors and then some
I’m nobody but I am someone
.

13 thoughts on “painted faces

  1. Hug you and your words.

    • ty as always my friend. this poem was written in support of my co workers, we have an emotionally clueless boss who just continues to hurt people’s feelings. and he chooses the weaker among us, so it just disturbs me to no end. and what do you do at work, you paint a smile on your face….

  2. Sky Vani says:

    I know this face 🙂

  3. Oloriel says:

    Words of the true wisdom of the open heart, the only thing that saddens me is that this open,gentle heart of yours gets met with a blade,

    • Oloriel, thank you for such sweet empathy, and you are right as always. i don’t do well in the world most days, and i’m usually better defending others than myself and Scout is the same.

      but we are ferocious in each other’s defense, so our union kinda’ works out pretty well!

  4. fine writing and it seems that silence is a thorn for many.

  5. This is such a fantastic piece! And punctuated perfectly at the end with Ani DiFranco…how I love her!

    • yeah, so do i! the performances on ‘Living in Clips’, some of them were trancendant, at least to these ears. and 32 Flavors was always a favorite of mine, ty so much. having you read so many of my poems, put a smile in my heart.

      • Its also one of my favourites! I truly enjoy reading your work, I don’t get too many opportunities to get on my computer and actually have a good read so I tend to read in large batches, which I thoroughly enjoy! Write on my friend…;)

      • well, then you spending your precious time here, means that much more to me. ty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

