in feather and cuts

The clouds are breaking climbing weightless through the storm.
There is no world worth another glance, her flight of new regrets
an exhalted reach for that slice of sun.

It’s not heaven she remembers but warmth across her naked skin
a soft breeze surrender, blood red serenity only the cutter craves
hoping any moment might be her last.

Pale androgynous waif she sits alone shrouded in feather and cuts
shades drawn dark, a desperate heart cloaked in its own protection
the littered mattress her valiant refuge.

Paired sparrows announce the new day at her empty window feeder,
she hears only his abrupt departure. It’s not heaven she remembers
but his fervent lips across her naked skin.

dark-angel-21114

Written March 2013

33 thoughts on “in feather and cuts

  1. maddiemayhem says:

    That is beautiful. I really like how it was written, the style. It really hits home.

    • thank you much. i’ve been a storyteller mostly and in a stream of conciousness, poetic style. i recently discovered freeverse which really melds both stories and poetry perfectly. A Love Note Left was my first attempt and i’m smitten now. πŸ™‚

      thanks for the follow too, means a lot to this month old blogger.

      • maddiemayhem says:

        thanks, thank you. The follow means a lot to this week old blogger. I really love freeverse. I have always loved telling stories and poetry. You are so right that freeverse melds them together. πŸ™‚ Thank you for showing me this poem

      • you are very welcome and i look forward to reading many more of your poems too.

        it’s a little odd starting a new blog, the silence can often be deafening so don’t get discouraged. i’ve found that following tags and commenting on other folks work, like you have here, helps a lot.

        i’m used to writing for websites that had dozens of instant responses and long comment threads, which i happen to like. so far on WordPress, i don’t see that dynamic.

        it’s a different environment here, just have to adjust, like everything else.

      • maddiemayhem says:

        it is an odd world, but i like it, i can voice my thoughts. it’s nice.

      • The websites i wrote for tended to be more judgemental, here not so much. That was important to me, creativity is such a fragile thing.

      • maddiemayhem says:

        it really is, i am glad to have it

    • You are so kind, thank you. I’m beginning to settle in to this freeverse style, it’s not as intimidating to me as metered verse.

      I know this person, she’s an acquaintance of mine and i care about her so i’m glad that feeling came through.

  2. madamewalrus says:

    You write beautifully! I felt the emotions!

    • Thank you for those kind words, they mean a great deal to this relatively new writer.

      I’m glad my feelings came through, i know this person and i care a lot about her well being. Just wasn’t sure what else to do, she doesn’t’accept help very well.

      • thank you for such kindness and a warmest of welcomes to you. so if i can ask, is the ‘digipainting’ post yours that johanisthinking reblogged?

      • Matthew says:

        yes it is indeed. it came from my goochiink.wordpress.com blog I also have a blog focus on information at innermitigation.wordpress.com

      • well..it’s a beautiful image to these eyes my friend, and that it’s a first attempt makes me appreciate the effort even more. my early training was in painting and illustration, i thought it’s what i would be and of course life got involved…..

        my daughter inherited all my better genes, she draws and paints as well, she’s been inspiring me lately with her work so i’m very curious about this process and application you used. whatever you feel comfortable sharing, i would be so grateful. ty.

      • Matthew says:

        ya well I originally used acrylic on paper you can see that in my gallery here http://goochiink.wordpress.com/2d-mixed-mediums/ I simply used Photoshop cs6 to add some filters to the photo I think specifically I used cutout and poster edges along with some others. The filter gallery is an especially useful tool thanks for checking out my stuff!

      • you are most welcome, i will visit that blog to see exactly what you’re referring to, and ty. i will have to thank johanisthinking for allowing us to find each other. πŸ™‚

  3. KARL says:

    You posted your link to this poem on my blog, and I just wanted to say thank you for reading mine πŸ™‚ You have a sense of judgement that somehow doesn’t judge, and it’s really terrific. I really was able to relate to this poem, thank you so much πŸ™‚ Continue writing!

    • well, i have to say that,’ a sense of judgement that somehow doesn’t judge’ might be the kindest compliment i’ve ever heard. thank you and thanks for the follow too.

      i’m an observer, it comes from my training as a painter and it’s an invaluable resource now that i write. i’m working on a poem right now where that phrase perfectly describes the person i’m writing about too. if you don’t mind, i’d like to incorporate it as is.

      i’m drawn to your prose, there is such an intracacy of detail that appeals to me.
      pleae keep writing as well.

  4. happy says:

    this is beautifully composed, at the same time it’s quite sad indeed.

    I can relate emotionally..

    Thank you for sharing this.

    • you are most welcome, i really appreciate that you took the time to comment and for the follow too.

      it’s often difficult finding the balance between expressing love or empathy for someone we care about, without sliding into a sort of sentimentality.

      i’m glad it struck a chord, i relate too, the need to escape, the release. i’ve been there myself.

  5. happy says:

    yeah… escaping does sound good at times…

  6. your words are beautiful…the emotions real…i feel your freedom in expressing who you are…in being true to your poetic voice…divine!

    • thank you, i’m not sure if you read through some of the comments but i know this person, and i felt helpless to help her except to write this.

      i was just thinking today as raw and untrained as i am writing poetry, the form feels like a second skin to me. and i say that in the humblest of ways, i am listening to my heart and i finally, after all these years have a way of expressing it.

      thank you for encouraging me with your wonderful heartfelt comments,

  7. newbloggycat says:

    Hi there, I think your blog is awesome and I have nominated you for the Liebster Award. Here’s the link: http://wp.me/p2TELX-Cg
    Congrats! *(^____^)*

  8. Asmira says:

    I love this πŸ™‚

  9. Mike Roberts says:

    half my writing life, I’m cutting chaff, and extending promise. You should leave this exactly as it is, Perfect piece. Its a wall hanger, congratulations.
    M

    • M, your praise kind of took my breath away for a minute…and someone with some words suddenly has none but, thank you so very much. i really only know how to write from my heart, my partner is responsible for so much of my inspiration.

      ty again, conversation is always welcome here.

  10. SirenaTales says:

    Searing, trenchant, and tragic….Strongly woven, my friend.

    • ty Sirena, that was my own helplessness that i felt for an acquaintance
      of mine, who has now become a friend to us both. i saw her just yesterday
      and she’s doing so much better now.

      thanks for digging in the closet for this poem,
      sometimes i forget what i’ve written.

Leave a Reply

